The Social Security System (SSS) simultaneously opened branch clinics in more than 50 strategic locations, including island provinces and far-flung SSS branches, across the country on January 7, 2013 to ensure effective delivery of medical services to members and SSS employees.

SSS Medical Services Division Officer-in-Charge Dr. Leticia Ong said 54 branches nationwide has launched Physical Examination (PE) Centers manned by SSS doctors and furnished with basic medical equipment and supplies such as medicines for first aid.

“The PE Centers will serve as hubs for SSS medical services that will conduct physical examination of members with sickness and disability claims. The Centers will also provide check-ups, consultations and other medical services to SSS employees and their dependents,” she said.

Ong said one to five SSS doctors are assigned in every PE Center, depending on the branch’s size and volume of transactions. The clinics were set up in isolated areas within SSS branches to offer members privacy and comfort during their physical examination and interview.

“Sickness and disability claimants are often within hearing distance of other transacting members. With the new PE Centers, we address their need for privacy in discussing sensitive details about their health so that SSS doctors can better evaluate their medical condition,” she said.

Each PE Center has a waiting area and at least one examination table, which are enclosed with a curtain. The SSS will assess its implementation of PE Centers after six months and study the possibility of opening more SSS branch clinics by then, Ong said.

New PE Centers at SSS branches in Diliman, Novaliches, Pasig-Shaw, Caloocan, Marikina, Antipolo, Manila, Makati-Gil Puyat, Makati-J.P. Rizal, Pasay-Roxas, Alabang, Taguig and Mandaluyong cater to members in the National Capital Region starting on January 7.

At the same time, Luzon-based PE Centers were opened to members in Baguio, La Union, Tuguegarao, Laoag, Olongapo, Malolos, Pampanga, Cabanatuan, Tarlac, Dagupan, Calamba, Binan, Bacoor, San Pablo (Laguna), Lipa, Lucena, Puerto Princesa, Calapan, Naga and Legaspi.

“Our branches in Cebu, Lapu-lapu, Tacloban, Ormoc, Calbayog, Maasin, Bohol, Bacolod, Iloilo, Dumaguete, Cagayan de Oro, Iligan, Valencia, Butuan, Surigao, Davao, Kidapawan, Tagum, General Santos, Dipolog and Zamboanga also have PE Centers for our members in the south,” Ong said.